As we continue to physically distance to slow the spread of COVID-19, HOPE remains committed to creating space for Latinas to connect and feel empowered. That's why we launched a monthly HOPE at HOME webinar series: free virtual programs to help keep you informed, engaged, and supported by community. ⁣

UPCOMING EVENTS

LATINA EMPOWERMENT DAY

A VIRTUAL REGIONAL EVENT SERIES

9am PT / 11am CT / 12pm ET

Join HOPE for a regional virtual event series. We'll address COVID-19 economy and health updates; prepare for a secure financial future; and learn how our leadership can make an impact today by serving on California's Boards and Commissions. We will host three sessions covering the same topics with a regional lens. Sessions are free and open to all but registration is required.

PAST EVENTS

THE AFRO-LATINA EXPERIENCE

THURSDAY, JULY 23 

9am PT / 11am CT / 12pm ET

As part of HOPE’s commitment to standing with the Black Lives Matter movement and to challenging racist systems and structural inequities that have been lain bare by the COVID-19 pandemic, we hosted the first of many conversations on race – starting with the often erased Afro-Latina Experience. We brought together industry and community leaders for an important dicsussion on identity, representation and the experience of being afro-descendent in the Latino community.

BUILDING BRIDGES

TUESDAY, JULY 14 

11am PT / 12Pm CT / 1pm ET

HOPE CEO Helen Torres joined leaders from the LA Urban League, CAUSE, and the Jewish Center for Justice for a panel discussion on the results of our new California Community poll, addressing race relations, discrimination, and the impact of COVID-19 in California. This virtual event was hosted by the Los Angeles Museum of Tolerance as a part of their monthly Building Bridges series and will be moderated by USC Anneberg professor, Dan Schnur.
 

THE STATE OF LATINA TEENS: A VIRTUAL YOUTH TOWN HALL

TUESDAY, JUNE 30

3pm PT / 5pm CT / 6pm ET

In a briefing style format, learn about the current status of Latina Teens in California from the experts - Latina teens themselves. This peer-to-peer briefing, led by the participants of HOPE’s Youth Leadership Program, will examine and explore solutions to the pressing issues impacting California Latina Adolescents. This virtual Youth Town Hall will pay special attention to the impact that COVID-19 is having on young people now and into the future.

CONFRONTING RACISM: A PANDEMIC WITHIN A PANDEMIC

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 17

11 AM PT / 1 PM CT / 2 PM ET

In the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd by a police officer in Minneapolis, the current moment in the United States has been described as, ‘A Pandemic Within a Pandemic.’ To speak to the recent tragic events and future solutions, President & CEO of HOPE, Helen Torres, joined Michael Lawson, President & CEO of the Los Angeles chapter of the National Urban League, and Charlie Woo, Co-Founder and CEO of Center for Asians United for Self Empowerment (CAUSE) for a webinar hosted by the Los Angeles World Affairs Council & Town Hall.

 

The conversation addresses the current national conversation on racism, police brutality, and criminal justice reform. It also touches upon the larger systemic US racial inequality — illuminated particularly by the COVID-19 pandemic — and poses future-oriented solutions for both citizens and leaders.

LATINA ACTION DAY

JUNE 10, 11 & 12 | 9:30 -10:00 AM PST

HOPE hosted our annual public policy issues conference: the virtual 26th Annual Latina Action Day! We brought together California's top thought-leaders and experts to discuss California's State Budget Crisis, the Future of Latina Education, and the Future of California's Economic & Workforce Recovery - diving into the impact of COVID-19 from the Latina perspective. Learn more.

BUILDING BRIDGES: A CROSS-CULTURAL DIALOGUE ABOUT CONFRONTING RACISM

MONDAY, JUNE 8

12 PM PT / 1 PM CT / 3 PM ET

On June 8, 2020, Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust hosted a dialogue about confronting racism with a group of leaders working for justice and opportunity in Los Angeles. HOPE CEO, Helen Torres, joined Julie Bank, Board Chair for the Jewish Center for Justice, Michael Lawson, President and CEO of the Los Angeles Urban League and Charlie Woo, Board Chair for the Center for Asian Americans United for Self-Empowerment (CAUSE) with special guest Michel R. Moore, Chief of Police for the LAPD for a cross-cultural dialogue about social change. The conversation was moderated by Dan Schnur, professor at USC's Annenberg School of Communications and Board Member at Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust.

COPING AND CONNECTING THROUGH MINDFULNESS

FRIDAY, MAY 29

10 AM PT / 12 PM CT / 1 PM ET

HOPE hosted a conversation about Latinas, mental health and coping through difficult times with special guest Adriana Alejandre, LMFT, founder of Latinx Therapy. This 60-minute session explored mindfulness techniques to help you cope and build resilience. We will also addressed key facts about Latinas and mental health.

HOPE is a non-profit, non-partisan, organization committed to ensuring political and economic parity for Latinas through leadership, advocacy and education to benefit all communities and the status of women.

 CONTACT US 

 ADDRESS 

634 South Spring St

Suite 920

Los Angeles, CA 90014

 CONNECT WITH US  

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2017 by HOPE.